Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Disney Family Media Day

Last Saturday, we were invited to Disney Family Media Day at Disneyland and California Adventure. I took Angry Toddler, my BFF, Stacey, and her daughter, Stella with me. We arrived late in the afternoon because I worked earlier that morning. We also took the kids to lunch before we got there. As a parent, I know it is not good to start off a long day at Disneyland with hungry kids.

Our first stop was the Public Relations Holiday Reception in Frontierland. They had a wonderful display of treats set out. There was a also a DJ, facepainting, and a coloring area set up for the kids.

We then headed towards some rides in Tommorrowland. We went on Buzz Lightyear, and Stacey took the kids on Star Tours. I headed towards our lockers, since it was getting quite windy, and a little cold. Of course, we stuff our locker so full, it would not open. Good times. Luckily, an awesome employee, Frank, said it happens all the time, and helped me. We were able to get the backpacks out. Note to self: Do not stuff lockers because they won't open.

I headed back towards It's a Small World to meet up with Stacey and the kids. They were in awe of the Christmas Fantasy Parade. I don't think that Angry Toddler has ever paid attention to an entire parade. He LOVED it. Stacey and I saw the parade a few weeks ago, on my birthday, we thought it was pretty swell too.

We then ran over to Big Thunder Ranch to check out the Reindeer. Very cool!! Angry Toddler kept trying to climb the fence to get a closer look. He got told several times to get down by employees. He wouldn't listen to me, but he listened to the employee.

We pretty much ran back and forth the entire time. Stacey and I both got frustrated. It's hard trying to fit in all these things to see with four year olds. Especially four year olds with completely different personalities. We saw as much as we could. The kids finally got super tired and fell asleep in the stroller. They did not stay awake for the Fireworks, so we chose to leave. It was a very long day.

Luckily, this was my third time to enjoy Disneyland during the Holidays!! So, I got to enjoy the Fireworks twice already. Seriously, they are fabulous and a must see!

Check out my other posts about Disneyland during The Holidays:

The Magical Holiday Season at Disneyland

Wordless Wednesday Disney

Be sure and check out my Whrrl story about the entire day! It's got the play by play story, along with pictures. Just click on it to open the document.

More stories at Disneyland Resort
Powered by Whrrl

I just want to give a big THANKS to The Disneyland Resort and their Public Relations Team for inviting us to this event!

Disclosure: I was provided tickets to Disneyland/Disneyland's California Adventure. We also received priority seating wristbands for the parade and other events.

Monday, December 7, 2009

Build-A-Bear Workshop Giveaway-UPDATE WINNER

Angry Toddler is six months away from five years old. In his mind, he's much older. He likes to play with toys for older kids, etc. I was quite delighted when I saw that Build-A-Bear Workshop had Star Wars themed outfits and accessories for their already cute bears and furry friends. I eagerly anticipated doing a review on their Darth Vader Dimples Teddy.

It was just my luck, that before I received the Teddy for review, my mom took Angry Toddler to Build-A-Bear Workshop. He came home with the Camo Bear dressed as Darth Vader. My mom called me excited, "We went to Build-A-Bear today and Angry Toddler got the coolest Star Wars Bear"... But what did I do with the awesome Darth Vader Dimples Teddy? Check out the bottom of this post for details!

Build-A-Bear Workshop has great gifts for this Holiday Season!Check out their site for some great gift ideas including specially priced gift sets, great value gifts, gifts by theme, personalized gifts, and even gift cards.

Did you also know that anyone who buys a furry friend from Build-A-Bear Workshop is eligible to register that friend free at buildabearville.com, a virtual world where friends can hang out, play games and shop for cool virtual stuff? Yep! It's a great FREE site! You just enter the proper information to access it.

But about that Darth Vader Dimples Teddy...since Angry Toddler already has an awesome Camo Darth Vader, also known as, Vader Bear..I'm GIVING AWAY the awesome Darth Vader Dimples Teddy. I know, awesome isn't it? What a great gift it would make for the Holidays!

Darth Vader Dimples Teddy Giveaway


Rules:

Open to U.S. Residents, 18 years & Older. Giveaway ends 12/13/09 at 11:59pm PST. Winner will be notified via email. Winner is responsible for responding within 72 hours or a new winner will be picked. The email will come from: angryjuliemonday@gmail.com Please make sure this is marked as a non spam email. Please leave your e-mail address if you are not registered with Blogger. I can't reach you if I don't have your contact information.

Leave a comment.

Even better, subscribe to my review blog here, and my main blog here.

****Congrats to my winner #20 Spydergrrl****PLEASE CONTACT ME with your information!***




Disclosure: I was provided a Star Wars Darth Vader Dimples Bear for Review. I'm choosing to give it away!

Arm & Hammer Kid's Spinbrush

I recently received the Arm & Hammer Kids Spinbrush in the mail. I was requested to review this toothbrush. Angry Toddler has 3-4 toothbrushes in the cabinet all ready. He's quite a collector of toothbrushes, but he doesn't have any like the Spinbrush.

I opened the package and surprised Angry Toddler with the Skateboard version. He was very very excited. I mean so excited, that he kind of shrieked, grabbed it, and ran to the bathroom. Angry Toddler is obsessed with brushing his teeth and the dentist right now. Every time that we drive by the dentist's office, he asks me to make an appointment. Who is this kid? Is he mine?


He promptly played with the skateboard on the bathroom counter, while I got out the toothpaste. He then began to brush his teeth, for several minutes. After he was done, he washed the Spinbrush off, and placed it in the cabinet.

The Arm & Hammer Kid's Spinbrush is available in the following themes: Butterfly, Dolphin, Ice Cream Cone, Mermaid, Skateboard, Astronaut, Soccerball, Fire Truck, Spider-Man, Wolverine, Hulk, and Pikachu.

Some Facts:
*Kids brush 30% longer with Spinbrush than with a manual brush.
*Perfect for kids ages 3-11.
*Great handle design makes brushing fun.
*Smaller brush head.
*Promotes healthy brushing, reduces plaque and massages gums.
*Includes 2 replaceable AAA batteries.
*MSRP $5.29-$6.29.
*All Spinbrush® products are available nationally at most food and drug chains and mass merchants. You may want to try some of the larger stores like Walmart, Target, CVS, Walgreens, Sam’s Club, K-Mart, or Rite Aid.


This would be the perfect stocking stuffer for your child during this Holiday Season!

Disclosure: This Arm & Hammer Spinbrush with the Skateboard theme, and another Butterfly Spinbrush were provided to me for review. I was not compensated other than receiving these products.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

1, 2, 3 Puff! Recipe Contest

Creating an original recipe is a culinary challenge that, when
successful, can raise one's status from skillful chef to dining diva!
But what if that original recipe could win you and a guest an
all-expense paid trip to New York City? Better Homes and Gardens, in
partnership with the Pepperidge Farm(r) Puff Pastry brand, is
encouraging home chefs everywhere to enter the 1,2,3 Puff! Recipe
Contest for a chance to win a trip to The Big Apple!

From savory appetizers to seasonal entrees and sweet, flaky desserts,
Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry has long been a staple in creating simple
yet impressive dishes. Contestants may submit up to three entries, one
for each category: appetizer, main dish, and dessert. To enter,
contestants must create an original recipe with Pepperidge Farm Puff
Pastry Sheets or Shells and upload a photograph of the finished recipe
to www.123puffcontest.com.
Entries must be received by December 31, 2009.

Finalist entries will be displayed on
www.123PuffPastry.com and visitors may
vote for their favorite entries from January 15 through February 1,
2010. The Finalist with the overall highest number of votes will be
revealed in March 2010, will win the Grand Prize of an exciting trip
to New York City and may have their recipe featured in an upcoming
issue of Better Homes and Gardens magazine.

Additionally, there will be three First Prize Category Winners, each
of whom will receive a prize package of professional baking supplies
and the Better Homes and Gardens Complete Book of Baking cookbook.

Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Sheets and Shells are available in the
freezer section at major supermarkets, grocery stores and mass
merchandisers nationwide for a suggested retail price of $3.59 and
$4.39, respectively. For more information, recipe ideas and official
contest rules, visit
www.123PuffPastry.com.

Disclosure: This information was provided to me in the form of a press release. I received no compensation to post this.

Saturday, November 28, 2009

Choosing The Right Toy

As a parent, I try and research almost every toy that we buy our son. It's really easy to do online. There are tons of places to get reviews and research about toys. You can get the good, the bad, and the ugly. I even read reviews after we've bought a toy, or received one as a gift.

We recently had problems with putting together a toy. My son begged for it at Target, and since he was good, we complied. My husband got so frustrated putting the toy together. He knew that it was going to break within minutes of my son playing with it. So he did the best thing that he could, he super glued it together. I then researched the toy and saw that other people were also frustrated with it. I made sure that I also left a review with our experience with that particular toy.

Just in time for the Holiday Shopping Season, the Toy Industry Association (TIA) has launched two helpful websites for consumers.

ToyInfo.org-Provides you with the tips you need to choose the right toys for your family. From toy safety facts to free downloadable play guides and from recall information to discussion boards, this engaging and informative new site is a one-stop resource for caregivers and parents to discover everything about toys and play.

America Loves TOTY 2010

ToyAwards.org -Showcases the top toys nominated for the 2010 Toy of the Year Awards (TOTY), recognized as the "Oscars" of the toy industry. Not only will you discover which toys the industry's experts think are best, but for the first time, kids and parents can indicate their favorite toy picks..and register to win their choice of one or more of 11 prize packages.

Both of these sites have great information. They are perfect to bookmark for future information also. There are even links to check out recalls also.

Disclosure: This information was provided by TeamMom.

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Building with K'NEX

I was recently asked by TeamMom to do a review on K'NEX. I was gladly accepted as Angry Toddler loves to build things. This would be something completely new to him also. I mentioned this review to my best friend, Stacey. She told me that she played with K'NEX all the time as a child. She even played with her brother.

We received the 400 piece value tub, which had instructions and ideas for over 20 different models. I also loved that it came in a storage tub, which made it easier to clean up later. Angry Toddler was fascinated and amazed by all the colorful pieces. It was bit overwhelming for Angry Husband. He opened the idea book and let Angry Toddler pick out some things.

Rather than going through multiple photos, you can view my Whrrl story below.

More stories at The Angry Household
Powered by Whrrl

Loaded with 400 parts, including bricks, for lots of open-ended fun and endless building and play opportunities! Includes instructions and ideas for 20 models or use your imagination to dream up your own creations. The convenient storage tub means there is always a place to put your parts or take the fun with you wherever you go! For ages 7+.


  • Packed with 400 parts, including bricks, rods and connectors, for lots of open-ended building fun


  • Includes ideas/instructions for 20+ models or use your own imagination


  • Handy storage tub means you can take the fun with you and clean-up is easy


  • For ages 7+
    Angry Toddler is only four and a half. He plays with Legos and other similar toys daily. This is rated for age 7+ which was a little advanced for him, but I know that we will play with it again, and again, and oh again. I also love that K'NEX are compatible with Legos.

    K'NEX is also having a video contest, which ends on December 7, 2009. All you have to do is enter a video of your child building with K’NEX for a chance to win $1,000 worth of K’NEX Building sets.

    *Post the video on your own blog and submit the link to knexvideocontest@knex.com
    *Videos must be at least 30 seconds but no longer than 3 minutes and must include one or more of the following: K’NEX 400 PC Tub and/or K’NEX Sesame Street Building Sets

    Click here to read more information about entering this contest
    .

    K'NEX can also be found on Facebook.

    Disclosure: I was provided a 400 piece value tub by TeamMom for a review, free of charge.

    Thursday, November 19, 2009

    Waterpik Hand Held Shower Head


    We are in the process of re-decorating Angry Toddler's bathroom. It's been a 2-year process. We've had other priorities. We finally put up a new towel rack last week. You would think that our house is under construction or something, but in reality, we are lazy.

    I was given the opportunity by Waterpik to test out one of their hand held shower heads. I jumped, of course. I received the Waterpik EasySelect 5 Mode Hand Held Shower Head in brushed nickel. It had everything in the packaging to install it. Angry Husband unscrewed our old plain shower head and assembled the new Waterpik one. It came with a handy tool in the packaging to install the shower head. We didn't even have to get a wrench from the garage. I think this would be great for people living in an apartment or someone who does not own a lot of tools, but wants to upgrade their shower head. He was able to install it within 10 minutes.

    Some of the key features for this shower head are:
    • 5 " Round Shower Head
    • Advanced OptiFLOW Technology
    • Easy Clean Nozzles
    • Removable Flow Regulator
    • Limited Lifetime Warranty
    The spray modes are:
    • High/Low Concentrated Center Spray
    • Circular Massage
    • Power Spray / Pulsating Massage
    • Misting
    • Water Saver
    Angry Toddler was asleep when we installed the shower head. He saw it when he was in the bathroom the next morning. He came into our bedroom shrieking, "mama, did you see the cool shower head in my bathroom". We think it will be great for when he wants to take a bath, but needs his hair washed. We can just disconnect the shower head from it's mount and spray down his hair.

    My only con with this shower head it the potential for yanking it too hard and breaking the mount. I think we would have that problem with any hand held shower head in a four year old's bathroom.

    The Waterpik EasySelect 5 Hand Held Shower Head can be found at Home Depot, and retails for $59.99.

    Disclosure: I was provided a shower head by Waterpik to review. I did not make any promises about positive and/or negative reviews.
    Angry Julie Monday, 2008. All Rights Reserved.|Blog Design by JudithShakes Designs.